Pee Pee

 

I recently got introduced to Renny from Renny BA’s Terella. The most intriguing thing that I found on his blog was his header image. He has put an image of The Angry Boy in the Vigeland Park, Oslo Norway. As soon as I saw the header, it reminded me of someone. I quickly called my friend and asked her a few questions before introducing her to Renny’s blog. 

 

 

Here’s the part of conversation that took place between me and her:

 

Me: When I say Agra, what is the first thing that comes to your mind?

She: Taj Mahal

Me: Babylon?

She: The Hanging Gardens

Me:  Belgium

She: Chocolates

Me: Umm something else?

She: Beer? European Union?

 

When she couldn’t come up with the answer that I was looking for, I asked her check Renny’s blog. She suddenly screamed on the phone-‘The Pee Poo boy from Belgium.’

 

I told her that it’s not the Pee chap from Brussels but a similar version. We chit chatted for a while after that and I sat down to find out a little more about the denuded boy, The Mennekan Pis, also known as the Petit Julien in French. 

 

Let's Pee Together

 

The reason that my friend reacted with such ebullience was she remembered the time when a group of our friends were making fun of people who come from across the world to check out a guy who is taking a whiz in public. As if they have never seen their naughty kids peeing wholeheartedly at every place. To add it all people buy souvenirs, trinkets, chocolates, post cards of this happy pee chap.

 

The most difficult lot to digest the fact that people from across the globe go to a watch a peeing boy, are the Indian men. Since generations they have been ranting the slogan- Give us a wall, and we’ll pee. Their argument is that they have been peeing in public from ages but none came to click them or a make a statue of them so that people from far off places come to see them. No one cares about the art that they possess. Rather whenever they are caught by a policeman while peeing in public, they are given warning about paying a buck at Shulabh Shauchalaya (easy toilets),and peeing in private.

  

I Can Also Pee

 

When we are talking about the Mennekan Pis, how can we forget the female version of the same, the Jeanneke Pis ? I once argued with a friend that if men can pee in public why can’t women? Today when I think about what I said, I wonder why I can’t keep my big mouth shut at times.

Nevertheless, the main attraction lies in the surprises that Belgium may throw at you. Drink Belgium beer, pee in public, and you may be the next one to get your statue engraved there.;)

 

*****************************

Updates– I have launched the Award Lounge, where you may enjoy some icecream while viewing my awards. I have not added a couch there, please feel free to use comment box as your couch. Also, the page is best viewed on Internet Explorer, it looks sad on Mozilla Firefox.

 

I have got Top Commenter Award from Drowsey, who herself got this award from Rose DesRoshers for being one of the top commenters on her blog.

Talkative Moi

 

Worthy award huh!  I have to pass this award to the top commenters but there is no way I can figure out who top commenters are. Please accept this award, if you think you leave a lot of comments on my blog.:)