‘To Kill a Mocking Bird’ by Harper Lee is one of those timeless American Classics that can be read, re-read, and be passed on to the generations to come. It was published in the year 1960 and until today it is one of the timeless parables. This is the only work published by Miss Lee, although she worked on her second novel but eventually filed it unpublished. In 1962 it was turned into a movie and it stays as most beloved of the Hollywood Classics. What makes it unique is that it stems from the point of view of the 8 year old narrator. This book embodies the values and attitudes of 21st century and makes it moving with it’s portrayal of selfless fatherly love.

I bought this book about a year back and for some reason or other I could never pick it up to read. Because of lot of time in hand these days, I finally picked it up.But as soon as I finished reading it, I started reading it again. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to place any other book above ‘To Kill a Mocking Bird’. Although each line can be explored in it’s theme of conscience, and courage but the following lines have left me thinking.

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what. You rarely win, but sometimes you do.” ~Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird, Chapter 11, spoken by the character Atticus.

